SM City Davao

My photo
Address: Quimpo Boulevard corner Tulip Drive,Ecoland Subd., Davao City, PHILIPPINES Telephone # 082.297.6998 Fax # 082.297.5500

Thursday, August 26, 2010

MODA MINDANAW 2010 Levels Up!

Among the Kadayawan Festival events, the Moda Mindanaw has gained much following after 2 years of running. An evolution from the Urog Etnika, the  Moda Mindanaw has opened doors of opportunities not only for Davao-based designers but to budding artists from its nearby provinces as well. “Moda” (Italian, to mean fashion) and “Mindanaw” therefore, best describes the extravaganza.
 Moda Midnanaw 2010 entries
Last August 22, nine talented  artists are set to battle for the best “fast forward” street wear: Uni Sam Apat, June Rodino Artajo, Nicky de Asis, Miku Betsuki, Harold Andy Cabrera, John Glenn Rañon, Joanna Cong, Mandy Velasco, Wilson Limon and another set of nine for the evening gown: Jhon Marilao, John Ryan Ayala, Frida Cabilles, Jhayar Magdaleno, Marco Laurencio, Jayson Glarino, Jones Joseph Buladaco, Vincent Medel and Mharo Lao.

Prior to the presentation of the entries on Moda Mindanaw night, the participants underwent “critiquing” session with personalities in the fashion industry. During this time, the designers presented their sketches and was then evaluated by professional designers. This was done to further improve their creations and ultimately, their crafts.

The esteemed panel of judges include Susan Antepuesto of Isadora, Maureen Siongco of Knots 4ever, Arch. Michael Dakudao (lifestyle writer), Joel Mendez (Weightless Center proprietor), Mutya ng Dabaw 1998 Carol Kent Ramos, Photographer/ Lifestyle writer Jojie Alcantara and Silverio Anglaser of Silverio.

Apart from the opportunity of being part of Moda Mindanaw 2010, winners get to bag Php 10, 000 (1st place), Php 8,000 (2nd place), and Php 5,000 (3rd place).

For the Street wear category, Harold Cabrera took home the grand prize while Miku Betsuki and Junnie Artajo bagged the 2nd and 3rd place.

 Harold Cabrera (Grand Prize Winner) with model Diane Dagalen 

Street Wear Category 2nd Placer Miku Betsuki (left) and model Riza Ortega

 Junnie Artajo (3rd Placer, Street Wear) and model Louanne Olasco

Marco Laurencio’s number which was gloriously worn by model Kitten Maambong proved to be the best among the entries for the evening wear. Jayson Clarino’s and Ron Nacua’s landed 2nd and 3rd place.
 Evening Wear Grand prize winner Marco Laurencio (2nd from the left) receiving his award. Also in the photo are SM's Russel Alaba, SM Dept. Store's Peter Sam, model Kitten Maambong and Ms. Jen (leftmost) 

Second placer for Evening Wear designer Jayson Clarino and model Mae Tjima (3rd and 4th from the left) with SM executives.   

 Third placer (Evening Wear) Ron Nacua and model Jessa Mendoza (third and fourth from the left) with SM executives.

This year, Moda Mindanaw paid tribute to homegrown Davao fashion designer Don Mascariñas. Mascariñas has won various design competitions including SM’s Sagala Gown Design Competition and the Urog Etnika. 

(L-R) Donning Mascariñas’ creations were Hon. Counc. Rachel Zozobrado, Hon. Counc. Tomas Monteverde, Hon. Counc. April Marie Dayap,  print/commercial  model Vince Canizares, Hon. Counc. Myrna Ortiz and Hon. Counc. Al Ryan Alejandre.
The SM Moda Mindanaw 2010 is also supported by Greenwich, SM Department Store, Coco Cabaña and Gibi Shoes.

No comments:

Post a Comment